Home

wood-1884339_1920Hello!

I’m back from a lovely and much-needed Thanksgiving break. I’m sure you older folks know this, but it is positively the weirdest feeling in the world when you have to pack a suitcase to visit home! (Although I imagine there are many more weird feelings… like stepping in quicksand or swimming in the Dead Sea.) I was so thoroughly enjoying being home that I didn’t even take any pictures to share with you!

I dreaded coming back to Cal Poly and facing Dead Week and Finals, but the fact that I can go home again in ten days keeps me going! Don’t get me wrong, I love this school more than I ever thought I could. I just don’t love the idea of spending my time studying when I could be exploring this beautiful place!

But isn’t that just like life? God placed us on this earth and tells us that it is our temporary home. The world is beautiful and it declares the goodness of God, but it also presents us with challenges, losses, and discomfort. We can face those difficult situations with confidence in the fact that Jesus holds us in His hands and He has prepared for us an even sweeter and more perfect Home. These trials aren’t meant to break us, they are meant to grow our faith in Jesus and his unfailing presence. God is preparing us to spend eternity in Heaven with Him. Shouldn’t we then give Him our all?

2 Corinthians 4:16-17 says, “Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.”

God has blessed me with a loving, supporting family that can send me to college, and the incredible opportunity to learn all I can in this place. I’m choosing to be a good steward of this opportunity and do the very best I can. Though finals week is scary and full of unknowns, I know He will guide me through it and help me to become the best teacher through the knowledge I will gain. The thought of home will help me endure the next ten days, and the thought of Heaven will help me endure as long as I will live. I pray that I will never miss an opportunity to give the glory back to Jesus, knowing that He has loved me and blessed me more than I could ever deserve!

Thanks for reading! I have a few more fun posts coming up, so stay tuned! Let me know if you have some good ideas for future posts… I’d love to hear your thoughts!! You are lovely. Here is a picture of a lovely tree I found near the music building on campus, just for you! 🙂

Lovely Tree

-Megan

•Lord of all, to thee we raise this our hymn of grateful praise•

What do you think?

