Cinderella

butterfly-1278820_1920

Hello!

I’m so sorry for the silence recently… My life has been an absolute whirlwind. The past few weeks have been incredibly difficult, but right now I am just so relieved and happy to be home for spring break.

My beautiful mama and I went to see “Cinderella” yesterday… We both waited to watch it until I came home so that we could go together! After what seemed like endless previews, we were treated to one hundred and thirteen minutes of glittery costumes, soaring music, and happily ever afters.

Oh my word, it was wonderful.

Lily James (Cinderella) and Sophie McShera (Drizella) from Downton Abbey fit seamlessly into their roles (Rose and Daisy, respectively, for all my Downton fans. #stopkillingthebestcharacters #maggiesmithforpresident). I’m also a big fan of the beautiful costumes, whimsy, sweeping camerawork, and the prince (those eyes, though😍). I won’t pretend to be a movie critic because I’m not and never will be haha. The greatest thing about this movie by far was the simple and sweet message: have courage, be kind, and forgive those who wrong you.

Credit: US Magazine

Credit: US Magazine

The Cinderella cartoon is great, don’t get me wrong, but I feel like this new movie is much more intentional about showing Cinderella’s genuine kindness and forgiveness. Even though there is no reference to religion in the movie, Cinderella almost seems to glow with an unconditional, Christlike love that never wavers despite her awful circumstances. She courageously faces each new day, fully knowing that she will be overworked and taunted by her family. She shows kindness to those who persecute her by holding her tongue and acting graciously. It is beautiful the way she finds joy in the simplest of things and treasures the sweet moments she experiences.

I LOVE that Cinderella’s sweetness is what catches the prince’s attention. Yes, of course she is stunning and he thinks she is the most beautiful creature on earth, but he vocalizes that he is smitten for her kindness and beautiful authenticity.

And she forgives her stepmother and stepsisters. As she walks arm-in-arm with the prince out of her house and into her bright future, she turns around, looks them in the eyes, and says, “I forgive you” with no hint bitterness or malice.

Credit: US Magazine

Credit: US Magazine

✨✨✨

I hope to be like that. I hope to be fearlessly authentic and love despite the circumstances. I hope to find the joy of the Lord in each moment and live without reservation, knowing that He is bigger than all I face. I hope to forgive openly, knowing Jesus first forgave us.

Jesus is glorified when we live with His joy in our hearts. He loves when we find whimsical and beautiful ways to love others and He uses this love to work in other people’s hearts, as well as our own. He gave up His life so that we can live in the promise of eternal life and hold nothing back, trusting that He is worth so much more than anything we possess. Jesus can soften the hardest hearts and free the captives. All we must do is live for Him.

👠👠👠

Anyway, this is why I smiled throughout the entire movie and for many hours after. I am inspired by Cinderella’s radiant love and selflessness and I plan to personally work on achieving those things.

And I’ll be dreaming of that dress for DAYS. 👗

Enjoy this weekend! You are wonderful. 🙂

-Megan

P.S. Check out Joshua 1:9Psalm 35:9, John 3:30, Ephesians 4:32, and 1 Peter 4:8.

P.P.S. Let me know if you have questions, comments, ideas, or ever want to talk about glitter, Downton Abbey, or Disney movies. I’m always down! 😉

•Lord of all, to thee we raise this our hymn of grateful praise•

What do you think?

