Peace on Earth

1270965_716695625052009_2061429780581718650_o

Hello!

I’m back after eight difficult months of silence. I must be honest and say that 2015 has by far been the hardest year of my life. It unfolded as a series of unpleasant circumstances that included death, a car crash, a best friend living 1600 miles away, a job that can be really, really difficult, and a college environment that leaves no room for peace and quiet.

Needless to say, my heart has been heavy these past few months. I find myself restlessly waiting for 2016 because surely it will bring the peace and joy I have been seeking!

But here’s the thing: It might not.

The trials and tragedies and horrifying news stories will not stop because a fresh new year makes its debut. There will still be refugees without homes and people killed by the hands of tortured souls. This thought is almost enough to make me give up sometimes. But then, I remember.

I remember that the God of the universe chose to come to this little, messed-up world. I remember that His son Jesus, in all of His glory and perfection, humbled Himself and became a tiny human. I remember that He lived on this earth and grew up experiencing the pain of humanity and feeling every unpleasant emotion in His heart. I remember that He gave Himself to rescue us from sin, even though we are ungrateful rebels.

There is so much hope in our Savior.

The story of Christmas illustrates God’s presence and renewing power in dark places. He did not stay away from the earth and save us through some indirect, quiet ritual. No, He entered the darkness and demonstrated His love through the most beautiful sacrifice the world has ever seen. The Lord does not watch the news to get caught up with the newest happenings on earth. No, the Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit (Psalm 34:18). He is with us in our confusion, anger, and grief, and He will be with us in our healing.

This is a beautiful song written by All Sons and Daughters about Paris before tragedy struck in November. It has become a prayer for those who are broken and mourning. You can read the lyrics and download it on noisetrade.

Doug Rumford, the pastor at my home church, said yesterday in his sermon that the big picture is hope. We like to look at our lives and our world in segments because it’s easy. 2015 alone was filled with disappointments, tragedies, mistakes, anger, and grief. What happened throughout and between the difficulties in my own year and the world’s year reveals that God is working in the midst of the darkness. He is greater than the struggles and sweeter than the successes. He provides for us and prepares our ways. There is no despair too great or celebration too joyful for the Lord. God’s love, power, and presence are constant, and for that I am so, so thankful.

Jesus will come again to restore the world. He will bring to light what is hidden in darkness and will expose the motives of the heart (1 Corinthians 4:5). Until He does, we can pray that the peace of Christ will be present in our hearts and in our world. He cannot change humanity’s sinful nature or protect us from the difficulties of a fallen world, but His peace allows us to see beyond our circumstances to find lasting joy, hope, and love. How fitting that we celebrate hope, peace, joy, and love during advent! It all makes sense in Christ.

Thank you for reading! It feels so good to be writing again. I pray that you would know the hope, peace, joy, and love of the Father in this Christmas season and throughout 2016. He loves you oh so much! 🙂

-Megan

•Lord of all, to thee we raise this our hymn of grateful praise•

 

6 thoughts on “Peace on Earth

  1. Megan, this is not only beautifully written, but the message beneath it is completely perfect for the season … Not just Christmas season but the season of life so many are in; no matter our age, financial status, or life events, we can all relate to this. Thank you so much for sharing. Please continue writing!

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement, Mrs. Tyson! It truly means the world to me. God is so, so good! Have a beautiful and blessed Christmas! 🙂

  2. Amen and Amen! Very well said Meagan! We serve a loving God who loves us so much ! He wants us to draw near to him, to trust Him with every aspect of our lives, and to seek His guidance in our daily lives as He will help us to live each day according to His will ! So very thankful for your strong faith and your willingness to share ir boldly! Blessings and hugs!
    Have you heard of the daily devotional by Sarah Young, “Jesus Calling, Enjoying Peace in His Presence”? I highly recommend it! We read it over and over, year after year as we draw closer a d closer to Him!

    • It’s so wonderful to hear from you, Mrs. Mattson! Our God is amazing and worthy of all praise… I don’t know why I ever doubt Him! Thank you so much for your encouragement 🙂

      I have heard of Jesus Calling! I have it myself and always find so much hope in its words. Have a blessed Christmas!

  3. Megan. I love reading these! I feel the exact same way. Somehow I feel like you always take the words/feelings away from my mouth. Thank you for always writing! I can only pray that everything gets better with Gods glory anything is possible with a whole lot of hope and love and faith.

  4. Pingback: I’m Thankful For Seasons | Dear Old World

What do you think?

